Best call center software for small businesses: 10 tools compared

Written by
Andrej Harsani, Co-founder, Quality Unit
Updated
Prices checked
November 1, 2026

Call center solutions for small businesses: which kind do you need?

Which kind of call center software fits which team, and the tools to look at
If you…You needLook at
Take calls only, on a tight budgetRingCentral has a multi-level IVR on its first plan.A business phone with unlimited US callingDialpadRingCentralNextiva
Answer calls, emails, chats and Instagram messages from the same customersOne ticket per customer, whatever the channel.A help desk with a call centerLiveAgent· We make thisZendeskFreshcaller with Freshdesk
Call out all day (sales, renewals)Dialers start on their second or third plan.A phone tool with a dialerJustCallAircallCloudTalk
Take a few calls a weekA free plan; you pay for numbers and minutes.Pay per minuteFreshcaller
Let AI answer callsCompare what one call costs, not the price per seat.An AI voice agentLiveAgent· We make thisAircallRingCentralJustCallCloudTalk
Run a contact center with video, social media and more channelsA contact center suiteZoom Contact CenterDialpad SupportRingCentral RingCX

Call center software comparison: 10 tools side by side

In the entry plan Add-onOn a higher plan or for an extra fee Not offered

Ten call center tools: what each is best for, its channels, starting price with calling, free plan or trial, and how it charges for AI
ToolBest forEmailChatPhoneSocialHelp centerStarts atFree plan / trialHow AI is charged
LiveAgent We make thisSupport teams that want calls, email, chat and social media in one help desk, with their own phone company for internet calls (a VoIP provider)Email In the entry planChat In the entry planPhone In the entry planSocial In the entry planHelp center In the entry planStarts at $22 Team · Special offer until November 22, 2026, regular $29; numbers and minutes from your VoIP providerFree plan / trialNo free plan · 30-day trial, no cardHow AI is charged No AI feesAI voicebot and live transcripts on your own OpenAI account
AircallSales and support teams that work in a CRMEmail Not offeredChat Not offeredPhone In the entry planSocial Add-onHelp center Not offeredStarts at $30 Essentials, at least 3 usersFree plan / trialFree access to test; no trial length statedHow AI is charged50 AI voice agent minutes a month, then per minute
CloudTalkSmall teams that want a low entry price and add features laterEmail Not offeredChat Not offeredPhone In the entry planSocial ExpertHelp center Not offeredStarts at $25 Starter; IVR from Essential ($29)Free plan / trialNo free plan · 14-day trialHow AI is charged$9 per user for summaries and transcripts
DialpadTeams that want the lowest price for calls and may grow into a contact centerEmail Not offeredChat Dialpad SupportPhone In the entry planSocial Dialpad SupportHelp center Not offeredStarts at $15 Standard (business phone); contact center Dialpad Support from $89Free plan / trialNo free plan · 14-day trialHow AI is chargedTranscripts and AI recaps included
FreshcallerTeams with few calls that want a low seat price and pay for minutesEmail FreshdeskChat FreshdeskPhone In the entry planSocial FreshdeskHelp center FreshdeskStarts at $15 Growth, plus numbers and minutesFree plan / trialFree plan, pay per minute · 14-day trialHow AI is chargedNo AI on Freshcaller; Freddy AI with Freshdesk
JustCallSales teams that call and text from one appEmail Add-onChat Not offeredPhone In the entry planSocial In the entry planHelp center Not offeredStarts at $29 Team, at least 2 usersFree plan / trialNo free plan · 14-day trial, no cardHow AI is charged$9 per user for AI review; voice agent per minute
NextivaSmall offices that want calls, texts and a basic help desk in one billEmail In the entry planChat EngagePhone In the entry planSocial Not statedHelp center Not offeredStarts at $15 NEXT Core, 12-month termFree plan / trialNo trial · demo onlyHow AI is charged$1.50 per AI conversation
RingCentralInbound teams that need an IVR and queues from the first planEmail Not offeredChat RingCX plansPhone In the entry planSocial RingCX plansHelp center Not offeredStarts at $20 RingEX Core; RingCX contact center from $65Free plan / trialNo free plan · 14-day trialHow AI is chargedAI Receptionist from $39 a month, then per minute
ZendeskGrowing support teams that want many integrations and plan to customizeEmail In the entry planChat In the entry planPhone In the entry planSocial In the entry planHelp center In the entry planStarts at $55 Suite Team, plus numbers and minutes; IVR from Suite ProfessionalFree plan / trialNo free plan · 14-day trialHow AI is charged5 resolutions per agent included, then $1.50–$2 each
Zoom Contact CenterTeams already on Zoom that want video and chat in their contact centerEmail PremiumChat In the entry planPhone In the entry planSocial PremiumHelp center Not offeredStarts at $69 Essentials, billed annually up front, plus minutesFree plan / trialNo trial · contact salesHow AI is chargedBasic AI included; Expert Assist $40 a month
  • 6 of 10
  • 4 tools need a minimum or a term
  • AI billed 5 ways

What call center software really costs a month: seats plus calls

Seat prices hide the second half of the bill: numbers and minutes. Pick your team size. Each bar is one month for a new customer on annual billing: the plan, one US number and the minutes below, before taxes. Tools that include US calling add nothing for minutes; for LiveAgent we count Twilio Elastic SIP Trunking's US prices, before taxes and fees ($1.15 a number, $0.0034 a minute in, $0.01 out), as an example of a VoIP provider you connect.

4 agents, about 33 calls a day: 2,900 minutes a month, 2,600 in and 300 out

The cheapest plan with calling for each tool, the first CloudTalk plan with an IVR, both Zendesk Suite plans, and Freshdesk Omni with its phone add-on.

Seats Numbers and minutes

  • Dialpad Standard $60

    No call monitoring or callbacks on this plan; a department IVR and US calling included.

  • Nextiva NEXT Core $60

    12-month term, demo only; unlimited voice.

  • Freshcaller Growth $60 + $15.40 = $75.40

    One number, plus 600 incoming minutes beyond the 2,000 included (at $0.013 each) and 300 outgoing minutes. Its page does not say whether the included minutes are per agent; we counted them once for the account.

  • RingCentral Core $80

    Multi-level IVR and US calling included.

  • LiveAgent Team We make this $88 + about $13 to Twilio = about $101

    For 4 agents on the offer, with email, chat and social media in the same inbox; calls at Twilio’s prices.

    At the regular price: about $129 a month ($116 for seats).

  • CloudTalk Essential $116

    The first CloudTalk plan with an IVR; US calling included.

  • JustCall Team $116

    Single-level IVR; US calling included (fair use).

  • Aircall Essentials $120

    Basic IVR; a number and US calling included.

  • Freshdesk Omni Growth with phone $176 + $15.40 = $191.40

    Email, chat and calls in one help desk: Omni Growth plus the voice add-on per agent; calls at Freshcaller’s rates.

  • Zendesk Suite Team $220 + $38.80 = $258.80

    No IVR on this plan; numbers and minutes billed on top.

  • Zoom Contact Center Essentials $276 + $14.54 = $290.54

    Billed a year up front; outgoing minutes counted, incoming not (no rate on its page).

  • Zendesk Suite Professional $460 + $38.80 = $498.80

    The first Zendesk plan with an IVR, callbacks and monitoring.

The same costs as a table
ToolSeatsNumbers and minutesTotal a month
Dialpad Standard$60–$60
Nextiva NEXT Core$60–$60
Freshcaller Growth$60$15.40$75.40
RingCentral Core$80–$80
LiveAgent Team$88$12.99$100.99
CloudTalk Essential$116–$116
JustCall Team$116–$116
Aircall Essentials$120–$120
Freshdesk Omni Growth with phone$176$15.40$191.40
Zendesk Suite Team$220$38.80$258.80
Zoom Contact Center Essentials$276$14.54$290.54
Zendesk Suite Professional$460$38.80$498.80

12 agents, about 150 calls a day: 20,000 minutes in and 2,000 out

The plan with callbacks and call monitoring where the tool has it; LiveAgent’s supervisors listen but cannot whisper.

Seats Numbers and minutes

  • RingCentral Advanced $300

    Multi-level IVR, whisper and barge; US calls included; same price for 1 to 100 users.

  • LiveAgent Team We make this $264 + about $89 to Twilio = about $353

    For 12 agents on the offer, with email, chat and social media in the same inbox; calls at Twilio’s prices.

    At the regular price: about $437 a month ($348 for seats).

  • CloudTalk Expert $588

    Live monitoring and the power dialer; US calls included.

  • JustCall Pro $588

    Callbacks, whisper and barge, power dialer; US calls included (fair use).

  • Aircall Professional $600

    Queue callback, whisper and barge, PowerDialer; US calls included.

  • Zoom Contact Center Essentials $828 + $68.60 = $896.60

    Billed a year up front; outgoing minutes counted, incoming not (no rate on its page).

  • Dialpad Support Essentials $1,068

    Listen, barge and takeover; numbers and US calling are add-ons its page does not price, so this bill is too low.

  • Zendesk Suite Professional $1,380 + $285 = $1,665

    IVR, callbacks and monitoring; numbers and minutes billed on top.

  • Zendesk Suite Team (for comparison) $660 + $285 = $945

    For comparison, if your team is on Zendesk already: calls and voicemail, but no IVR or callbacks.

The same costs as a table
ToolSeatsNumbers and minutesTotal a month
RingCentral Advanced$300–$300
LiveAgent Team$264$89.15$353.15
CloudTalk Expert$588–$588
JustCall Pro$588–$588
Aircall Professional$600–$600
Zoom Contact Center Essentials$828$68.60$896.60
Dialpad Support Essentials$1,068–$1,068
Zendesk Suite Professional$1,380$285$1,665
Zendesk Suite Team (for comparison)$660$285$945

25 agents, about 400 calls a day: 44,000 minutes in and 8,000 out

The same plans for 25 agents; LiveAgent moves from Team (up to 15 agents) to Business.

Seats Numbers and minutes

  • RingCentral Advanced $625

    Multi-level IVR, whisper and barge; US calls included; same price for 1 to 100 users.

  • LiveAgent Business We make this $950 + about $231 to Twilio = about $1,181

    For 25 agents on the offer, with email, chat and social media in the same inbox; calls at Twilio’s prices.

    At the regular price: about $1,456 a month ($1,225 for seats).

  • CloudTalk Expert $1,225

    Live monitoring and the power dialer; US calls included.

  • JustCall Pro $1,225

    Callbacks, whisper and barge, power dialer; US calls included (fair use).

  • Aircall Professional $1,250

    Queue callback, whisper and barge, PowerDialer; US calls included.

  • Zoom Contact Center Essentials $1,725 + $259.40 = $1,984.40

    Billed a year up front; outgoing minutes counted, incoming not (no rate on its page).

  • Dialpad Support Essentials $2,225

    Listen, barge and takeover; numbers and US calling are add-ons its page does not price, so this bill is too low.

  • Zendesk Suite Professional $2,875 + $705 = $3,580

    IVR, callbacks and monitoring; numbers and minutes billed on top.

The same costs as a table
ToolSeatsNumbers and minutesTotal a month
RingCentral Advanced$625–$625
LiveAgent Business$950$230.75$1,180.75
CloudTalk Expert$1,225–$1,225
JustCall Pro$1,225–$1,225
Aircall Professional$1,250–$1,250
Zoom Contact Center Essentials$1,725$259.40$1,984.40
Dialpad Support Essentials$2,225–$2,225
Zendesk Suite Professional$2,875$705$3,580
Estimate your own minutes
  • Minutes a month = calls a day × average minutes per call × 22 working days. 33 calls of 4 minutes come to about 2,900 minutes.
  • Agents on the phone in the busiest hour = calls in that hour × minutes per call ÷ 60, then divided by 0.8 so agents have time between calls. 68 calls of 5 minutes need 7.1 agents, so plan for 8.
  • Your phone bill or your current tool's call report shows your real numbers; use last month's.
Read the small print
  • “Unlimited” calling means within the US and Canada where the vendor names a region, under a fair use policy; toll-free, international and premium numbers are billed separately.
  • The cheapest plans often leave out the call center parts: Dialpad Standard has no call monitoring or callbacks, CloudTalk Starter no IVR, Zendesk Suite Team no IVR.
  • Aircall's price is for at least 3 users and JustCall's for 2; Zoom bills its contact center a year up front.
  • Twilio charges $0.01 a minute to most US numbers and more to some rural ones; other VoIP providers price differently.

What we would pick for your team

4 people, calls plus emails and social messages

LiveAgent Team We make this

About $101 a month with Twilio minutes on the offer ($129 regular)

Each call lands on the same ticket as the customer's emails and messages. Zendesk Suite Team costs $258.80. Calls only: Dialpad Standard ($60) or RingCentral Core ($80, with a multi-level IVR).

Try two side by side for a week

12 agents on Zendesk Suite Team, turning on calls (about 150 a day)

  • Stay: Suite Team ($660) plus Zendesk's numbers and minutes ($285), no IVR or callbacks$945
  • Upgrade: Suite Professional, IVR and callbacks$1,665
  • Add a phone tool: RingCentral Advanced next to Zendesk, whisper and barge$960
  • Switch: LiveAgent, one inbox, tickets moved for freeabout $353$437 regular

Today you pay $660 a month for the seats. Calls counted: 20,000 minutes in and 2,000 out a month.

12 agents, about 150 calls a day, coaching new people on live calls

RingCentral Advanced

$300 a month, US calls included

The cheapest plan here with whisper and barge. LiveAgent's supervisors can listen and read the live transcript, but cannot whisper or join the call.

25 agents, about 400 calls a day, busy Mondays

RingCentral Advanced

$625 a month, US calls included

The cheapest with whisper and barge. For peaks, a queue callback lets callers hang up and keep their place: Aircall Professional, CloudTalk, Dialpad Support, JustCall Pro, Zendesk Suite Professional and LiveAgent have one; RingCentral's pages do not say. LiveAgent Business (about $1,181 on the offer, $1,456 regular) pays off when the same agents also answer email and chat; Zendesk Suite Professional with those channels costs about two and a half times LiveAgent's regular price.

Should you pick LiveAgent? Three reasons yes, four reasons no

Pick LiveAgent if…

  • Your customers call, email, chat and send Instagram messages, and you want one ticket per customer. Each customer's calls, emails and messages land on one ticket, so nobody asks the caller twice. See the costs
  • You want an AI voicebot with no fee from us. It runs on your own OpenAI account, which bills you about $0.054–$0.32 for a 3-minute call, where the same call costs $1.47 on Aircall and $1.50 on RingCentral after their included minutes. AI voice agents
  • You weigh what users say. 4.7 on Capterra from 1,789 reviews, the highest score of the tools here, and 4.5 on G2; ratings tell you how happy users are, not whether a tool fits you. Ratings

Pick something else if…

  • Your team calls out all day. LiveAgent has no dialer. Look at JustCall Pro or Aircall Professional.
  • You coach new agents by whispering to them on live calls. In LiveAgent supervisors listen, read the live transcript and leave notes only agents see, but cannot whisper or join the call. Look at RingCentral Advanced.
  • You want one bill with calls included. With LiveAgent you pay a VoIP provider such as Twilio for numbers and minutes. Look at Dialpad or RingCentral.
  • Your agents mostly talk on the phone and rarely email or chat. RingCentral costs less than LiveAgent at every team size here, with US calls included: Core for 4 agents, Advanced with whisper and barge for 12 or 25. Costs

What the cheapest plan with calling includes

AI voice agents compared: what each tool charges

The 10 call center tools, one by one

  • LiveAgent: calls in your help desk

    We make this

    Best for support teams that want calls, email, chat and social media in one help desk

    4 agents a month on Team regular $128.99, now on offer $100.99

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • In the entry plan: Callback
    • Not offered: Whisper and barge
    • Not offered: Dialer
    • In the entry plan: Email
    LiveAgent's call list with incoming and outgoing, answered and missed calls
    LiveAgent's call list (our product).
    Plan with calls
    AI
    More facts
    Moving from another tool

    Start a 30-day free trial, no card Back to the comparison

  • Aircall: calls inside your CRM

    Best for sales and support teams that work in a CRM

    4 agents a month on Essentials $120

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • Professional Callback
    • Professional Whisper and barge
    • Professional Dialer
    • Not offered: Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    Aircall pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • CloudTalk: pay as you grow

    Best for small teams that want a low entry price and add features later

    4 agents a month on Essential $116

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • In the entry plan: Callback
    • Not stated: Whisper and barge
    • Expert Dialer
    • Not offered: Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    CloudTalk pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • Dialpad: unlimited US calls for less

    Best for teams that want the lowest price for calls and may grow into a contact center

    4 agents a month on Standard $60

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • Support Callback
    • Support Whisper and barge
    • Support Dialer
    • Not offered: Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    Dialpad pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • Freshcaller: a free plan, minutes billed

    Best for teams with few calls that want a low seat price and pay for minutes

    4 agents a month on Growth $75.40

    • Not stated: IVR
    • Not stated: Callback
    • Per minute Whisper and barge
    • Not offered: Dialer
    • Freshdesk Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    Freshcaller pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • JustCall: calling and texting for sales

    Best for sales teams that call and text from one app

    4 agents a month on Team $116

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • Pro Callback
    • Pro Whisper and barge
    • Pro Dialer
    • Add-on Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    JustCall pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • Nextiva: one bill for calls and texts

    Best for small offices that want calls, texts and a basic help desk in one bill

    4 agents a month on NEXT Core $60

    • Not stated: IVR
    • Not stated: Callback
    • Not stated: Whisper and barge
    • Contact center Dialer
    • In the entry plan: Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    Nextiva pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • RingCentral: multi-level IVR on the first plan

    Best for inbound teams that need an IVR and queues from the first plan

    4 agents a month on Core $80

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • Not stated: Callback
    • Advanced Whisper and barge
    • RingCX Dialer
    • Not offered: Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    RingCentral pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • Zendesk: calls in a large help desk suite

    Best for growing support teams that want many integrations and plan to customize

    4 agents a month on Suite Team $258.80

    • Professional IVR
    • Professional Callback
    • Professional Whisper and barge
    • Not offered: Dialer
    • In the entry plan: Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    Zendesk pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

  • Zoom Contact Center: video, chat and calls

    Best for teams already on Zoom that want video and chat in their contact center

    4 agents a month on Essentials $290.54

    • In the entry plan: IVR
    • Not stated: Callback
    • Not stated: Whisper and barge
    • Premium Dialer
    • Premium Email
    More facts
    Starts at
    AI

    Zoom Contact Center pricing Saved screenshot Back to the comparison

Ratings on G2 and Capterra

Stars filled to the rating, out of 5 Reviews: 100 · 1,000 · 10,000

G2 and Capterra ratings out of 5 and review counts, November 1, 2026
ToolG2Capterra
LiveAgent We make this
4.5 out of 5,
4.7 out of 5,
Aircall
4.4 out of 5,
4.2 out of 5,
CloudTalk
4.4 out of 5,
4.4 out of 5,
Dialpad
4.4 out of 5,

Listed as Dialpad Connect

4.2 out of 5,

Listed as Dialpad Connect

Freshcaller
4.1 out of 5,
4.0 out of 5,
JustCall
4.3 out of 5,
4.1 out of 5,
Nextiva
4.5 out of 5,
4.6 out of 5,
RingCentral
4.2 out of 5,

Listed as RingEX

4.2 out of 5,

Listed as RingEX

Zendesk
4.3 out of 5,

The whole Zendesk suite

4.4 out of 5,
Zoom Contact Center
4.4 out of 5,
1 review, too few to rate

How we chose and compared

Call center vs contact center software

Inbound vs outbound call center software: which you need

When nobody can answer: after hours, busy lines and missed calls

Is there free call center software?

  • Free plan Freshcaller
  • 30-day trial, no card LiveAgent
  • 14-day trial 6 tools
  • No trial 2 tools

Try two tools for a week

  • 1 Pick two
  • 2 Forward a number
  • 3 Count
  • 4 Check the follow-up
We make this

Want calls next to your emails and chats?

  • One inbox. Calls, emails, chats and social media messages land on the same ticket, from Team, on the VoIP provider you choose.
  • No AI fees. The AI voicebot and live call transcription run on your own AI provider.
  • A free move. Coming from Zendesk or Freshdesk? We move your tickets and contacts on a paid plan.

Start your 30-day free trialNo credit card.

How the call center worksPlans and prices

About the author: Andrej Harsani co-founded Quality Unit, the company behind LiveAgent, in 2004.

Related guides

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, read from a US address on the date shown.

  1. Aircall: pricing, November 1, 2026.
  2. CloudTalk: pricing, November 1, 2026.
  3. Dialpad: pricing (Connect and Support), November 1, 2026.
  4. Freshcaller: pricing, call rates, Freshdesk Omni, November 1, 2026.
  5. JustCall: pricing, November 1, 2026; after-hours voicemail, November 1, 2026.
  6. Nextiva: pricing, November 1, 2026; after-hours menu, November 1, 2026.
  7. RingCentral: RingEX pricing, RingCX pricing, AI Receptionist, November 1, 2026; company custom rules, November 1, 2026.
  8. Zendesk: pricing, Zendesk Talk number availability and pricing, November 1, 2026.
  9. Zoom Contact Center: pricing, calling rates, November 1, 2026.
  10. Twilio Elastic SIP Trunking, as an example of a VoIP provider for LiveAgent: US pricing, November 1, 2026.
  11. LiveAgent: pricing, call center, IVR, migration; 7,000+ businesses: about LiveAgent. AI voicebot and live transcription run on the customer’s own OpenAI account: OpenAI API pricing, realtime audio prices on November 1, 2026.
  12. G2 and Capterra ratings, from each tool’s page on November 1, 2026. G2: Aircall, CloudTalk, Dialpad, Freshcaller, JustCall, LiveAgent, Nextiva, RingCentral, Zendesk, Zoom Contact Center. Capterra: Aircall, CloudTalk, Dialpad, Freshcaller, JustCall, LiveAgent, Nextiva, RingCentral, Zendesk, Zoom Contact Center.

Changes: November 2, 2026: first published with 10 tools; replaces our earlier list of inbound call center software.

Frequently asked questions